top of page

★★★★★—Champion by Marie Lu

"He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion? June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion." (Goodreads)

My Review

★★★★★

** spoiler alert ** **DON'T READ IF YOU DIDN'T READ ALLEGIANT EITHER PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DON'T DO IT** Just... Champion. Heartbreakingly beautiful. Day... June... my babies... all grown up and *sniff* savin' the Republic. They love each other, they love each other and asdfghjkl; that one scene (oh you know what I'm talking about ;D) was done so so so tastefully and all the awards to Marie Lu. But seriously folks. After reading Allegiant by Veronica Roth, I grew terrified for the end of the Legend saga. Legitimately terrified. I was afraid... that bad things would happen, to put it lightly. At some points, I thought Day was going to die. At some points, I thought June was going to die. Throughout all of it, I thought Eden and/or Tess was going to die. A cruel and horrible death. But I was happily happily proven wrong... and then Day got shot. Goddy- fuck. June praying to the Something, Anything... I thought he wasn't going to make it. There was the 'mother-greeting' dream sequence like Tris experienced a little in Allegiant, but oh I'm sorry but Day's was so much better. Even if he was going to actually die, it was a lot better. MY BABY MY FIGHTER HE'S SUCH A STRONG BOY YEAH? But then BOOM AMNESIA WHY And my heart broke. He didn't remember June. JUNE. JUUUUNE. And for her to love him so much to let him go... I was sobbing over the book. But THEN GAH The epilogue Oh happy endings make me giddy. Well It wasn't *happy* It kind of was It ended with a sense of hope for the future that other books I've read recently have really lacked. And for a minute or two afterward... There were tears on my face. I was clutching the book to my chest. And I couldn't stop laughing and smiling because they're together. They're meant to be together. And he knows it. And I hope eventually he remembers, but I'm so glad he's happy. That's what I wanted for him. I wanted him to lead some relatively normal life without all his burdens and he GOT that. I'll miss Day, but Daniel seems like he's awesome too. :) Day... Daniel... (I've begun to say 'yeah' after certain things like Day does... and I'm not alarmed. I LOVE his speech pattern and little words... He's got such a unique voice in my head and I'll never stop hearing it. Precious, loyal, morally-sound boy.) Another thing, besides the romance and amazing character development and the unbearably wonderful sense of hope at the end was the brief show of the other countries. Antarctica was AWESOME. I love their methods, everything's a big game and it's very very clever. And the fact that Eden turned out not even to be the cure... and it was JUNE... and just... I loved this book, yeah?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page