top of page

★★—Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (Original Review: July 14, 2014. Addition made on October 24, 2014)

"The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.” With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her. The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end." (Goodreads) (Read February 16, 2014, reviewed July 14, 2014)

My Review

★★

** spoiler alert ** It was okay. Better than I was expecting. Warnette grew on me, they're pretty cute. But the beginning... it was a little hard to get through. I hold fast that Adam's character was paved over, and that people aren't cutting him slack. I'm also not a fan of love triangles as a general thing, but y'know. It happens. It was alright. I'm glad I finally forced myself to read it.

***ADDITION FROM OCTOBER 24, 2014***

It started out as such a good series. I am pissed that it ended the way it did. To be honest, I didn't give two shits about the love triangle. I didn't want her to end up with either of them. I wanted to learn more about the Reestablishment or whatever that was called, because if I can barely remember what the totalitarian government is called, it's a sad excuse for a dystopia. Look, I love the writing and all that, but the characters... The only ones I cared about were Adam, James and Kenji. And the only reason I didn't care about Warner was because of outside sources, like the freaking fandom. I would've liked Warner as a character if everyone else hadn't been glorifying him and drooling all over him.

The writing is beautiful. The plot/characters/mythology of the society/PRIORITIES leave more to be desired.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page